THE DUKE AND I-A BOOK REVIEW

After days of sifting through YouTube videos and lists on Most popular novels to read, I finally stumbled upon a new genre I have never set my eyes on. The Duke and I is a historical romance and I cannot even describe how much I loved it! It was a roller coaster of emotions for me going through this wonderful fiction novel written by Julia Quinn.I have officially initiated myself into the JQ readership!

“ Can there be any greater challenge to London’s Ambitious Mamas than an unmarried duke?
–       Lady Whistledown’s Society Papers, April 1813

This book introduces the Bridgerton clan in a familiar, yet beloved fake betrothal plot.Daphne Bridgerton is one of the numerous wealthy siblings, all unmarried, but Violet, their mother is keen to rectify that situation.Daphne is a decent heroine who knows what she wants and Simon (The Duke ) is pretty damaged (dark daddy issues with a stuttering problem) , but still quite swoon worthy. Plus, I always love the heir as he is usually haughty and impossibly Darcy-ish (I am a big Jane Austen fan), though there were parts in the novel where he frustrated me to no end!!

Daphne is exasperated with the numerous boys of the society who have nothing but the greatest respect for her but no romantic inclination. She perceives that if Simon, a rakish but respected Duke, pretends he is interested in her then other men will follow suit. Simon agrees to the ruse because ambitious mothers are chucking their daughters at him like so many rotten tomatoes and he intends to never marry or have children. What happens beyond, I won’t be so crass to give away!

I loved the character development of each and every character such that the secondary characters were so much fun.Julia includes a large cast of characters but they all served a significant purpose. The gossip column of Lady Whistledown was a great way to impart expository information on Daphne and her extremely large family, with her being fourth in line of 3 elder brothers. I especially adore Violet Bridgerton, their mother. All in all, this novel did not make me weep or tear up and I would have liked certain things to end up differently, but nonetheless, it was a pleasant experience. Do give it a read! I have already started with the next one in the series i.e The Viscount Who Loved Me.

Signing off

Xoxosnapchat-1585919477

One thought on “THE DUKE AND I-A BOOK REVIEW

Leave a Reply

